The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg

Author(s): Deborah Eisenberg

Short Stories

Since 1986 with the publication of her first story collection, Deborah Eisenberg has devoted herself to writing "exquisitely distilled stories" which "present an unusually distinctive portrait of contemporary American life" to quote the MacArthur Foundation.

This one volume brings together Transactions in a Foreign Currency (1986), Under the 82nd Airborne (1992), All Around Atlantis (1997) and her most recent collection-Twilight of the Superheroes (2006).


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"One of America's finest writers."--San Francisco Chronicle

"Concentrated bursts of perfection."--The Times

"Shimmering stories that possess the power and charm to move us." --The New York Times

"Exhilarating."--Harper's Magazine

"Outstanding."--Christian Science Monitor 

"Eisenberg simply writes like no one else."--Elle

"Eisenberg's stories possess all the steely beauty of a knife wrapped in velvet."--The Boston Globe

"Dazzling."--Time Out New York


"Comic, elegant and pitch perfect."--Vanity Fair

"One of the great fiction writers living in America today."--The Dallas Morning News

"There aren't many contemporary novels as shudderingly intimate and mordantly funny as Eisenberg's best stories."--The New York Times Book Review

Deborah Eisenberg is the author of four collections of stories. She is the recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, a Whiting Writers' Award, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. She has taught at the University of Virginia since 1994, where she is currently a professor of creative writing.

General Fields

  • : 9780312429898
  • : picador
  • : picador
  • : March 2010
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Deborah Eisenberg
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : English
  • : 813.54
  • : 980