The Camel Bookmobile

Author(s): Masha Hamilton

Fiction

A superb novel of a travelling library, the Kenyan landscape - and the threat to a fragile way of life.
Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith

Deep in the heart of the dusty Kenyan desert a train of heavily laden camels wind their way slowly through the bush. The camels are not carrying grain or medical supplies, but books of every imaginable variety.

Into the remote nomadic settlement of Mididima comes an unexpected wealth of literature - tips for surviving an avalanche, the adventures of Tom Sawyer, vegetarian cookbooks - and all are eagerly devoured under the blazing Kenyan sunshine.

Volunteer Fi Sweeney, her heart filled with passion and possibilities, is surprised to discover that the project divides friends and neighbours. To Kanika, who reads every book she can lay her hands on, the Camel Bookmobile brings hope. But to some it represents the inevitable destruction of a fragile way of life ...

$28.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781474615754
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : January 2020
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Masha Hamilton
  • : Paperback
  • : 813/.6
  • : 320