Extremely Pale Rose : A Very French Adventure

Author(s): Jamie Ivey

Travel Narratives

A chance conversation with a Provencal vigneron leads to the most unlikely of quests - a hunt to find France's palest rose. Extremely Pale Rose is a richly entertaining and informative account of the travels of Jamie, his wife Tanya and their ebullient friend Peter Swift, as they take up this challenge. Giving up their lives in London, they quickly discover an unfortunate truth - the French won't treat rose or their quest seriously. Rose is seen as a poor cousin to red and white wine, drunk largely as an aperitif or to wash away the taste of spicy food. In bars, boulangeries and boucheries from Bordeaux to Bandol, Jamie, Tanya and Peter are recommended diverse vineyards to visit and as they travel they encounter the beginnings of a rose revolution - French attitudes to pale pink wine appear to be changing, but is it too little too late to help them succeed in their quest?

$30.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

NOT AVAILABLE


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Travel book with a difference: an idiosyncratic personal quest to find the palest and best rose wine in France. Promotable young author who will appeal to readers of Chris Stewart's Driving Over Lemons and Annie Hawes' Extra Virgin, and Pete McCarthy's McCarthy's Bar 'Like rose, I found this book light, bright and pleasurable, best tasted in small sips and on a hot summer day' Scotland on Sunday

Formerly a lawyer in London, Jamie Ivey elected to quit commuting and office life for a quest in France instead.

General Fields

  • : 9780753822494
  • : 104129
  • : 104129
  • : April 2007
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jamie Ivey
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 914.40484
  • : 352