Product detail

This is How it Always is

This is How it Always is

Author: Laurie Frankel
$35.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a warm, touching and bittersweet novel about a family that's just like any other - until it's not. For readers of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY. 'A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them...Sparkles with wit and wisdom' Maria Semple, bestselling author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE. Rosie and Penn always wanted a daughter. Four sons later, they decide to try one last time - and their beautiful little boy Claude is born. Life continues happily for this big, loving family until the day when Claude says that, when he grows up, he wants to be a girl. As far as Rosie and Penn are concerned, bright, funny and wonderful Claude can be whoever he or she wants. But as problems begin at school and in the community, the family faces a seemingly impossible dilemma: should Claude change, or should they and Claude try to change the world? Warm, touching and bittersweet, THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about families, love and how we choose to define ourselves. It will make you laugh and cry - and see the world differently.


I was lucky enough to receive an advance reading copy of this very special book about a family with a secret. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me think. Preorder your copy now -- Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of TRULY MADLY GUILTY and THE HUSBAND'S SECRET Heart-warming and funny... I found this both unputdownable and enlightening. I'm so glad I've read it - I know so much more about life now -- Katie Fforde A lively and fascinating story of a thoroughly modern family and the giant, multifaceted love that binds them. THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS sparkles with wit and wisdom -- Maria Semple, bestselling author of WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE An astonishing balance of humour, complexity, and above all, kindness -- Ruth Ozeki, bestselling author of A TALE FOR THE TIME BEING A beguiling tale of a sprawling, loving, ever-changing, unconventional and yet completely typical modern family... Wonderfully moving -- Garth Stein, author of THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN A beautiful, thought-provoking novel that will make you think differently about the world -- Adele Parks With emotional acuity, admirable bravery, utter compassion, and complete understanding, [Frankel has] created a family attempting to forge a path through one of life's most mystifying challenges: how to define what it is that makes your child who he or she is: unique, beloved, and whole. This is a novel everyone should read. It's brilliant. It's bold. And it's time -- Elizabeth George, bestselling author of A BANQUET OF CONSEQUENCES

Author description

Laurie Frankel writes novels (reads novels, teaches other people to write novels, raises a small person who reads and might someday write novels) in Seattle, Washington. She and her husband and daughter live on a nearly vertical hill from which Laurie can watch three different bridges when she's staring out her windows between words. Laurie's earlier novels are The Atlas of Love and Goodbye For Now. This Is How It Always Is is her third novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472241597
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Review
  • : November 2016
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Laurie Frankel
  • : Paperback
  • : 217
  • : en
  • : 352