Product detail

Nest: The art of birds

Nest: The art of birds

Author: Janine Burke
$30.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

As an amateur naturalist and nature lover, Janine Burke, art historian and author, has spent many years observing birds. Nest: The Art of Birds is the story of her passion, a personal, wide-ranging and intimate book - part natural history, part folklore, part exploration of art and aesthetics, part memoir - that will appeal to all those who love nature, literature and art. What are nests if not art created by nature? If a nest is not art, how can we account for those exquisite, painstakingly constructed creations that are decorated, or woven through with feathers, or studded with objects of a particular colour or sheen? Nest reveals both the art and mystery found in nature and celebrates them with lyricism, insight and great affection. In the tradition of Longitude, Cod or The Cello Suites, Nest: The Art of Birds is a short education that encompasses celebration and theory, investigation and memoir, the familiar and the revelatory - as surprising and enticing as any beautiful, intricately constructed nest.

Author description

Janine Burke is the author of Second Sight, Company of Images, and a groundbreaking series of books on the Heide circle, including Joy Hester, Australian Gothic: A Life of Albert Tucker, and The Heart Garden: Sunday Reed and Heide. The Gods of Freud: Sigmund Freud's Art Collection is the internationally acclaimed survey of Freud's personal collection.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781743318683
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : Allen & Unwin
  • : July 2013
  • : Australia
  • : October 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Janine Burke
  • : Paperback
  • : 1013
  • : 192