Nine New Zealand Novellas

Author(s): Peter Simpson (Editor)

NZ Fiction

This anthology features nine top authors in a fascinating anthology that groups the best examples of the novella, a form in which many New Zealand fiction writers have excelled. The collection includes:

Janet Frame: Snowman, Snowman

Maurice Shadbolt: Figures in Light

Ronald Hugh Morrieson: Pallet on the Floor


Keri Hulme: Te Kaihau/The Windeater

Russell Haley: The Transfer Station

Witi Ihimaera: The Halcyon Summer

Mike Johnson: Frames

Chad Taylor: Pack of Lies

Peter SimpsonÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂâÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂÃÂs previous collection, Seven New Zealand Novellas, was nominated in the 2004 Montana Book Awards reference and anthology category.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Dr Peter Simpson is one of New Zealand?s leading literary and art critics. He has written books on Ronald Hugh Morrieson and Colin McCahon, and many articles on New Zealand literature and painting, and has edited books on New Zealand and post-colonial literature. He is currently associate professor of English at the University of Auckland. Dr Simpson previously edited the successful Seven New Zealand Novellas, nominated in the 2004 Montana Book Awards Anthology category.

The novellas included in this edition are: Maurice Shadbolt's Figures in Light (1967); Ronald Hugh Morrieson's Pallet on the Floor (1976); Ian Wedde's Dick Seddon's Great Dive (1976); Janet Frame's Snowman, Snowman (1983); Keri Hulme's Te Kaihau The Wind Eater (1987); Russell Haley's The Transfer Station (1989); Mike Johnson's Frames (1991) as well as Chad Taylor's Pack of Lies and Witi Ihimaera's The Halcyon Summer (1989).

General Fields

  • : 9780790009926
  • : Raupo Publishing (Nz) Ltd
  • : Raupo Publishing (Nz) Ltd
  • : May 2005
  • : New Zealand
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Peter Simpson (Editor)
  • : Paperback
  • : 456