Blue Smoke (Children Of War Trilogy #3)

Author(s): Deborah Challinor

NZ Fiction

On 3 February 1931 Napier is hit by an earthquake, and Tamar Murdoch is seriously injured. As she recovers, she is preoccupied with the ongoing effects of the Great Depression, and her family is once again threatened by war and heartbreak when her grandson threatens to join the International Brigade.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

‘Being an historian, having a consummate ability for storytelling and using local settings and vernacular confirm Deborah Challinor as an established New Zealand novelist. Blue Smoke provides a stirring conclusion to the [Tamar] trilogy.’ Bookshelf, September, 2004 ‘Devotees of the family saga will love this trilogy, and it is hugely enjoyable to have New Zealand history and landscapes woven in. Challinor’s prose is clear and readable, and she tells a good story.’ Nelson Mail, August 2004 ‘This is the third book in the Tamar trilogy…One pleasure of these books is the New Zealand countryside, characters and places, rare to find in books of this quality. Perhaps film or television could be interested: the stories are strong and with film companies being attracted to New Zealand, who knows? This series will succeed in what ever format.’ Wanganui Chronicle, August 2004

General Fields

  • : 9781869507770
  • : HarperCollins Publishers New Zealand
  • : harper collins
  • : April 2012
  • : New Zealand
  • : April 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Deborah Challinor
  • : Paperback
  • : en
  • : 813
  • : 416