A Jolt to the Heart

Author(s): Felicity Price

NZ Fiction

When one of the world's most destructive earthquakes hits Christchurch in February 2011, Ellie Le Lievre's world crumbled along with thousands of homes and most of the city's CBD. When the dust-cloud cleared, one of the many dead was her husband, the popular blogger Max Maguire. But at the funeral wake, Max's best mate Lew Hastings finds that the flame for Ellie he had managed to smother for over forty years is being rekindled. Trouble is, he still can't help upsetting her almost every time he opens his mouth and, like a lot of people living with the daily aftershocks, he's turned to the booze for comfort. Besides, there's a deeper reason for Ellie's dislike - a reason the two former lovers have both tried to forget. Meanwhile, Lew's journalism unearths the scandal of why Max's building was allowed to remain occupied, a cover-up that will throw him closer to Ellie and scare the hell out of them both as their investigation uncovers the city's commercial underbelly. And all the while, Ellie's beloved cat is still missing and Max's dog is pining for his master.


Available Stock:


Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Felicity Price is the author of several works of published fiction. These include historical fiction, family sagas and love stories. All her life, Felicity has been a writer - from doodling in notebooks at the back of science class to the demanding world of daily television, radio, print and magazine journalism. Felicity is also the author of the John Britten biography "Dare to Dream" and two company histories. In her youth, Felicity graduated MA Hons in English literature. Recently, with her children grown and flown the coop, Felicity took a year off as a special gift to herself and attended the prestigious creative writing course at Victoria University, graduating with another, even more coveted MA in Creative Writing. Fiction by Felicity Price: In Her Mothers' Shoes Head over Heels, 2010; A Sandwich Short of a Picnic, 2008; Split Time, 2006; Call of the Falcon, 2004; No Angel, 2002; Dancing in the Wilderness, 2001. Non-Fiction: Dare to Dream: The John Britten Story

General Fields

  • : 9780473295585
  • : Blackjack Publishing
  • : Blackjack Publishing
  • : August 2014
  • : New Zealand
  • : January 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Felicity Price
  • : Paperback
  • : 272