Product detail

The Crown and Country: A History of England Through the Monarchy

The Crown and Country: A History of England Through the Monarchy (out of print)

Author: David Starkey
$39.99(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0

From one of our finest historians comes an outstanding exploration of the British monarchy from the retreat of the Romans up until the modern day. This compendium volume of two earlier books is fully revised and updated. The monarchy is one of Britain's longest surviving institutions -- as well as one of its most tumultuous and revered. In this masterful book, David Starkey looks at the monarchy as a whole, charting its magnificent history from Roman times, to the Wars of the Roses, the chaos of the Civil War, the fall of Charles I and Cromwell's emergence as Lord Protector -- all the way up until the Victorian era when Britain's monarchs came face-to-face with modernity. This brilliant book, in part a collection of biographies of Britain's kings and queens, provides an in-depth examination of what the British monarchy has meant, what it means now and what it will continue to mean. Bringing to life a cast of colourful characters, Starkey's trademark energy and authority make him the perfect guide on this epic, accessible and compelling journey, as he offers us a vivid portrait of British culture, politics and nationhood through an institution that has defined the realm for nearly two thousand years.


'Excellent!the really crucial events in the history of the British Monarchy!are assessed with authority, wisdom and wit!This is Starkey at his fluent and entertaining best.' Sunday Telegraph 'This book!is vivid, lucid and engaging!his judgements delivered with quasi-Pontifical assurance are often acute!a very enjoyable book.' Daily Telegraph 'David Starkey tours England's monarchical horizon with gusto.' Sunday Times 'Starkey brings the past to vivid life.' Daily Express 'Combines compelling narrative and lucid analysis to guide us with a sure hand!Starkey's book will undoubtedly make him and his publishers a tidy profit.' Spectator

Author description

David Starkey is Honorary Fellow of Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge, and the author of many books including 'Elizabeth', 'Six Wives: The Queens of Henry VIII' and 'Henry: Virtuous Prince'. He is a winner of the W.H. Smith Prize and the Norton Medlicott Medal for Services to History presented by Britain's Historical Association. He is a well-known TV and radio personality. He was made a CBE in 2007. He lives in London.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007307715
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : Fourth Estate Ltd
  • : September 2010
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2010
  • : July 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Starkey
  • : Paperback
  • : 1010
  • : 941.0099
  • : 488
  • : 36 col plates, (36 colour plates; multiple family trees)