Product detail

The Secret Life of the Mind: How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides

The Secret Life of the Mind: How Our Brain Thinks, Feels and Decides

Author: Mariano Sigman
$38.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

A vast yet compact view of cognitive neuroscience, a groundbreaking, personal and comprehensive guide into understanding our thoughts. In the last twenty years, Mariano Sigman has journeyed to the core of the brain, an organ formed by nearly an infinity of neurons that manufacture how we perceive, reason, feel, dream, and communicate. After more than two decades of research, he has zoomed out from a thorough excursion to the neurons to seeing the brain from afar, where thoughts begin to take shape. And at this point where psychology meets neuroscience, 'The Secret Life of the Mind' combines the astonishing work of biologists, physicists, mathematicians, psychologists, anthropologists, linguists, engineers, philosophers and medical doctors - not to forget cooks, magicians, musicians, chess players, writers, and artists. It is an astonishing synthesis of a life's expertise on the edge of science, for readers of 'Thinking, Fast and Slow'. Looking into how we forge ideas in our first days of life; how we shape the decisions that define us; why we dream; how years and years of formal and informal education change our brains, this book explores how we begin to understand even the smallest things that make up who and what we are.

Reviews

'Mariano Sigman writes and thinks in a uniquely provocative way. He is a gifted cognitive neuroscientist, and we are lucky to have him excavating the secret life of the mind. He makes learning about the mind and brain easy and almost automatic. He is the Richard Feynman of the brain' Andrew Meltzoff, Professor of Psychology, the University of Washington; co-author of 'The Scientist in the Crib'

Author description

Mariano Sigman, a physicist by training, is an international leading figure in the cognitive neuroscience of learning and decision making. He is the founder of the Integrative Neuroscience Laboratory at the University of Buenos Aires. Sigman is the only Latin American scientist to be a director of the Human Brain Project, was awarded a Human Frontiers Career Development Award, the National Prize of Pphysics, the Young Investigator Prize of "College de France," the IBM Scalable Data Analytics Award, and is a scholar of the James S. McDonnell Foundation.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780008225568
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : William Collins
  • : March 2017
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Mariano Sigman
  • : Paperback
  • : 717
  • : English
  • : 612.82
  • : 320