Tokyo Year Zero

Author(s): David Peace


August 1946. One year on from surrender and Tokyo lies broken and bleeding at the feet of its American victors. Facing the threat of a second purge, the surviving officers of the Tokyo Metropolitan Police Dept, with their changed identities and false names, realise they can trust no one, least of all each other. Meanwhile another war is breaking out, as different ethnic groups fight for control of the city's black markets. Against this extraordinary historical backdrop, "Tokyo Year Zero" opens with the discovery of the bodies of two young women in Shiba Park. Against his wishes, Detective Minami is assigned to the case, and as he gets drawn ever deeper into these complex and horrific murders, he realises that his own past and secrets are indelibly linked to those of the victims and their killer.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The author of The Red Riding Quartet, David Peace was chosen as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists in 2003. He was awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 2004 for GB84, and, most recently, The Damned Utd was described in The Times as 'probably the best novel ever written about sport'.

General Fields

  • : 9780571231980
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : August 2007
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Peace
  • : Paperback
  • : Export edn.
  • : 368
  • : Modern fiction