The Winter Vault

Author(s): Anne Michaels

Fiction

Egypt, 1964. The great temple at Abu Simbel must be dismantled and resurrected high above the rising waters of the Aswan Dam. This daunting task is overseen by Avery, a young engineer who, at the same time, is carefully building a life with his new wife, Jean. But not everything can be saved once the floodgates have opened: villages will be deluged, thousands will be exiled from their homes, and graves will be moved. And when Avery and Jean suffer a terrible loss of their own, they begin their separate journeys through the landscape of grief. Weaving historical moments with the quiet intimacy of human lives, "The Winter Vault" is the story of a husband and a wife trying to find their way back to each other; of people and nations displaced; and of the myriad means by which we all seek out a place to call home.

$25.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Anne Michael's first novel Fugitive Pieces won the Orange Prize and the Guardian Fiction Award in 1997 and has sold over 120,000 copies in paperback For fans of John Berger, Michael Ondaatje and The Siege by Helen Dunmore Winner of the Giller Prize Shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Award

Short-listed for Independent Booksellers' Week Book of the Year Award: Adults' Book of the Year 2010.

Anne Michaels is the author of three collections of poetry: The Weight of Oranges, which won the Commonwealth Prize for the Americas; Miner's Pond, which won the Canadian Authors Association Award and was shortlisted for the Governor General's Award and the Trillium Award; and Skin Divers. Her first novel, Fugitive Pieces, was published by Bloomsbury in 1997 to worldwide critical acclaim. It won the Orange Prize and the Guardian First Book Award among others, and was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and the Canadian Booksellers Association Author of the Year Award. It was also made into a major motion picture. Anne Michaels has also composed music for the theatre. Born in 1958, Anne Michaels lives in Toronto.

General Fields

  • : 9781408801086
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : April 2010
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Anne Michaels
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 813.54
  • : 352