Product detail

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

Author: Brian Conaghan
$19.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Angry and irreverent, tender and poignant this is a bold exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the ones we love. From the Costa Children's Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

Child experts will tell you that I'm way too young to carry such a burden of responsibility on my tender shoulders. But really, what do they know?


'Who is Bobby Seed?'


He's just your average sixteen-year-old - same wants, same fears, same hang-ups. Dull, dull, dull.
But then there 's the Bobby Seed who's a world away from average. The Bobby Seed who has to wipe his mum's backside, sponge her clean three times a week, try to soothe her pain. The Bobby Seed whose job it is to provide for his younger brother, Danny, to rub his back when he's stressed and can only groan and rock instead of speak.


That's Bobby Seed. Same, same, same, yet different, different, different...

Reviews

“Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable” –  Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian

“Laughter is inevitable” –  Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: Irish Times

“This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate” –  Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times

“An outstanding debut, packed with energy and a brilliant distinctive voice” –  Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Bookseller

“Believable, funny, brave and vulnerable young male characters … thought-provoking novel … drama and tension in plenty … irrepressible humour” –  Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: Joy Court, The School Librarian

“Humanity and humour thread through the challenging storyline from the first page to the very last” –  Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: The Bookbag

Author description

Brian Conaghan was born and raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives in Dublin. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. For many years Brian worked as a teacher and taught in Scotland, Italy and Ireland. His first YA novel, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in 2015 and attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and humorous depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome. His second, The Bombs That Brought Us Together, won the Costa Children's Book Award in 2016. We Come Apart, a verse novel co-authored with Carnegie Medal winner Sarah Crossan, published in 2017 to widespread critical acclaim.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408889121
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Children's Books
  • : May 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 320
  • : Brian Conaghan