The Unlikely Escape Of Uriah Heep

Author: H. G. Parry
Homepage_9780356513775

Stock information

General Fields

  • : $25.00(NZD)
  • : 9780356513775
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : Orbit Books
  • :
  • : November 2019
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • : books

Special Fields

  • :
  • :
  • : H. G. Parry
  • :
  • : Paperback
  • :
  • :
  • : English
  • : 823/.92
  • :
  • : 464
  • :
  • :
  • :
  • :
Barcode 9780356513775
9780356513775

Local Description

A glorious romp by a new voice in New Zealand writing

Description

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.
For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob - a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life - hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other.
But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world... and for once, it isn't Charley's doing. There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, and hopefully before anyone gets to The End.

Reviews

'Parry knocks it out of the park . . . Just plain wonderful' Kirkus
'A joyous adventure through all the tales you've ever loved. Funny, charming, clever and heartfelt, you're absolutely going to adore THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP' Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

Author description

H. G. Parry lives in a book-infested flat in Wellington, New Zealand, which she shares with her sister and two overactive rabbits. She holds a PhD in English literature from Victoria University of Wellington, and teaches English, film and media studies. Her short fiction has appeared in InterGalactic Medicine Show, Daily Science Fiction and small press anthologies. The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep is her debut novel.