The Third Life of Grange Copeland

Author(s): Alice Walker


Alice Walker's first book recounts the lives of three generations growing up in Georgia, where the author herself grew up. Grange Copeland is a black tenant farmer who is forced to leave his land and family in search of a better future. He heads North but discovers that the racism and poverty he experienced in the South are, in fact, everywhere. When he returns to Georgia years later he finds that his son Brownfield has been imprisoned for the murder of his wife. But hope comes in the form of the third generation as the guardian of the couple's youngest daughter, Grange Copeland, who glimpses a chance of both spiritual and social freedom.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The Third Life of Grange Copeland is Alice Walker's first novel. We are delighted to have acquired the entire backlist including The Color Purple are giving Alce Walker's books a new look to appeal to a new generation of readers The Color Purple won a Pulitzer prize and has sold over a million paperbacks in the UK 'Alice Walker is one of the best American writers of today' Washington Post 'Almost no one has tried to tell us about the early lives, the inner early lives of black people...Alice Walker is a storyteller' New Yorker 'A refreshingly original approach...Walker presents the family objectively, leaving it to the reader to decide how much it has been influenced by the heritage of bondage and by a knowledge of being surrounded by prejudice and hate' Washington Post

Alice Walker won the Pulitzer prize and the American Book Award for The Color Purple. She is the author of many bestselling novels, essays and collections of poetry including Meridian, By the Light of My Father's Smile and The Third Life of Grange Copeland.

General Fields

  • : 9780753819500
  • : orion
  • : orion
  • : September 2004
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Alice Walker
  • : Paperback
  • : 813.54
  • : 320