Product detail

The Reminders

The Reminders

Author: Val Emmich
$20.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Description

Overcome with the loss of his boyfriend Sydney, Gavin Winters has set fire to every reminder in their home. A neighbour has captured the blaze on video, turning this little-known TV actor into a household name. Gavin flees LA for New Jersey, where he hopes that ten-year-old Joan, the daughter of a close friend, can reconnect him with the memories of Sydney he is now in danger of losing forever. Joan was born with a rare ability to recall every single day of her life in perfect detail, and in return for sharing her memories of Sydney, Gavin will help her write a song for a local competition. For Joan has had enough of being the girl who can't forget - she wants to be the girl who will never be forgotten . . . Charming, beautifully observed, poignant and funny, The Reminders is an irresistible story of the unlikely friendship between a grief-stricken man who can't remember and a ten-year-old girl who can't forget.

Promotion info

An irresistible debut novel about love, loss, memory and unlikely friendship, for fans of Nick Hornby, Mark Haddon and Maria Semple.

Reviews

Endearing and wise . . . I adored the unlikely friendship between a gifted child who remembers everything and a grieving man who is trying to forget. Emmich brings a compassionate, often comical, and always true eye to his storytelling. Ten-year-old Joan says a good song should either make you want to dance or cry, and The Reminders does both' -- Eowyn Ivey, bestselling author of The Snow Child Val Emmich has created an indelible cast of complex and quirky characters who drew me in for an emotional and humorous ride . . . A book brimming with heart and soul - you really must read it! -- Garth Stein, bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain In a story that is both startlingly original and deeply familiar, I could not stop reading, and was bereft when the story ended. -- Jacquelyn Mitchard, bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Author description

Val Emmich is truly a man of varied talents. As an actor, he's had recurring roles on HBO's Vinyl (produced by Martin Scorsese and Mick Jagger), Showtime's The Big C, ABC's Ugly Betty, and a memorable guest role as Tina Fey's coffee-boy fling, Jamie, on NBC's 30 Rock. He was the lead in the feature film Fighting Fish and has appeared in dozens of commercials. Emmich is also an award-winning recording artist who's released a dozen albums and toured the U.S. several times over. The Star-Ledger called him "one of the finest songwriters in the Garden State, [and] also one of the most prolific."

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781509829415
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Picador
  • : April 2018
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Val Emmich
  • : Paperback
  • : 224