The Rapture

Author(s): Liz Jensen

Fiction

In a merciless summer of biblical heat and destructive winds, Gabrielle Fox's main concern is a personal one: to rebuild her career as a psychologist after a shattering car accident. But when she is assigned Bethany Krall, one of the most dangerous teenagers in the country, she begins to fear she has made a terrible mistake. Raised on a diet of evangelistic hellfire, Bethany is violent, delusional, cruelly intuitive and insistent that she can foresee natural disasters - a claim which Gabrielle interprets as a symptom of doomsday delusion. But when catastrophes begin to occur on the very dates Bethany has predicted, and a brilliant, gentle physicist enters the equation, the apocalyptic puzzle intensifies and the stakes multiply. Is the self-proclaimed Nostradamus of the psych ward the ultimate manipulator, or could she be the harbinger of imminent global cataclysm on a scale never seen before? And what can love mean in 'interesting times'? A haunting story of human passion and burning faith set against an adventure of tectonic proportions, The Rapture is an electrifying psychological thriller that explores the dark extremes of mankind's self-destruction in a world on the brink.

$38.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

For fans of Will Self, Margaret Atwood, Douglas Coupland and Ali Smith Liz Jensen's hardest-hitting novel yet broaches new territory - religious mania, physical and mental disability and the environmental ArmageddonFilm rights optioned by Warner BrosThe Ninth Life of Louis Drax was a BBC Page Turner and sold over 30,000 copies

Praise for The Ninth Life of Louis Drax:'Breathtaking' Independent on Sunday 'A gripping psychological thriller with a gothic flavour unputdownable' Daily Telegraph 'A remarkable suspense novel: tart, mysterious and wrenching' Anthony Minghella 'This is a wonderfully unsettling psychological thriller An oddly beautiful journey into the darkest corners of the human soul' Mail on Sunday

Liz Jensen is the author of Egg Dancing (longlisted for the Orange Prize), Ark Baby (shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize and longlisted for the Orange Prize), The Paper Eater, War Crimes for the Home (longlisted for the Orange Prize), The Ninth Life of Louis Drax and My Dirty Little Book of Stolen Time. She divides her time between Copenhagen and London.

General Fields

  • : 9780747599005
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : June 2009
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Liz Jensen
  • : Paperback
  • : Airport and export ed
  • : 352
  • : Modern fiction