The Good Guy

Author(s): Susan Beale

Fiction

A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather. Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

$38.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A joy Samantha Harvey, author of The Wilderness Inspired by the author's own experience, The Good Guy is a story of marriage, self-deception and the pressure to conform in Sixties suburban New England. Set during a time when America was on the cusp of a sexual revolution, the novel examines life under scrutiny in the 'Keeping up with the Joneses' era i

Susan Beale was brought up on Cape Cod but lives in the UK. She is a recent graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Creative Writing. The Good Guy is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9781473630345
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : John Murray Publishers Ltd
  • : May 2016
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Susan Beale
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 823/.92
  • : 304