Product detail

Someone Else's Garden

Someone Else's Garden

Author: Dipika Rai
$40.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

A big, intensely involving and evocative Indian novel, perfect for fans of Vikas Swarup's Slumdog Millioniare, with its emotive and, ultimately, redemptive story. Mamta is one of seven children and learns early on in her childhood what it means to be born female in rural India. Married to a savagely unkind and brutal husband, she flees to the city to try and make a new life for herself. Sharing her story are her mother, Lata Bai, the saintly Lokend, her ever-loving brother Prem, a soul-searching bandit and a brutal landlord. This is a redemptive story, despite the often unforgiving setting, and one that is difficult to put down.

Author description

Dipika Rai, was born and raised in New Delhi. She was educated in one of India's most prestigious boarding schools in the foothills of the Himalayas and then went on to do an MBA before going into banking. After a career change, she worked as a journalist for many years, writing for publications including Vogue India and Marie Claire. She now divides her time between India and the island of Bali where she lives with her husband and two children. This is her first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780007355099
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : HarperPress
  • : March 2011
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Dipika Rai
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : 416