Some Rain Must Fall (My Struggle #5)

Author(s): Karl Ove Knausgaard; Don Bartlett (Translator)


"The International bestsellerAs the youngest student to be admitted to Bergen's prestigious Writing Academy, Karl Ove arrives full of excitement and writerly aspirations. Soon though, he is stripped of his youthful illusions. His writing is revealed to be puerile and clichUd, and his social efforts are a dismal failure. He drowns his shame in drink and rock music. Then, little by little, things begin to change. He falls in love, gives up writing and the beginnings of an adult life take shape. That is, until his self-destructive binges and the irresistible lure of the writer's struggle pull him back. In this latest instalment of the My Struggle cycle, Knausgaard writes with unflinching honesty to deliver the full drama of everyday life."


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The fifth volume of Knausgaard's internationally bestselling My Struggle series

"[Some Rain Must Fall] is Knausgaard at his best... It's a rare novelist who writes about student bars and the Happy Mondays at the same time as yearning for spiritual salvation." -- Max Liu Independent "Raw, fast, improvisatory, unfettered. It's addictive high-wire writing in which he unflinchingly reveals everything about himself." Shortlist "It is a pen-and-paper virtual reality; after reading it you feel that another past has been downloaded into your mind." -- Laurence Scott Financial Times "For Knausgaard's obsessive fans, this cycle is the most exciting literary project of our times... Knausgaard is the most humane writer in the world... He writes beautifully... It is precisely in the commonness of the lovingly recorded details that these books spin their magic." -- Daniel Swift Spectator "Part of Knausgaard's appeal is believability: his books may be called novels but we read them as memoirs. The meticulous detail seems to guarantee their authenticity... Childhood, sex, love, art, work and death are there too, writ small from his own perspective, but compellingly observed." -- Blake Morrison Guardian

Karl Ove Knausgaard's first novel, Out of the World, was the first ever debut novel to win the Norwegian Critics' Prize and his second, A Time to Every Purpose Under Heaven, was widely acclaimed. A Death in the Family, the first of the My Struggle cycle of novels, was awarded the prestigious Brage Award. The My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece wherever it appears.

General Fields

  • : 9780099590187
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Arrow
  • : September 2016
  • : United Kingdom
  • : October 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Karl Ove Knausgaard; Don Bartlett (Translator)
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 839.8238
  • : 672