Product detail

Good Morning, Midnight

Good Morning, Midnight

Author: Lily Brooks-Dalton
$35.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

For fans of STATION ELEVEN and THE MARTIAN

'A remarkable and gifted debut novel' Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD

'What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being?' Yiyun Li, PEN/Hemingway Award winner

There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine is a brilliant, ageing scientist, consumed by the stars. Isolated in the cold but electrifying beauty of an Arctic Circle research base, he scans the universe, trying to find the origins of time itself.

Mission Specialist Sullivan, a divorced astronaut and mother, is aboard the Aether, on its return flight from Jupiter. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to.

As the silence expands, these two character begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are.

GOOD MORNING MIDNIGHT is an extraordinarily beautiful and poignant novel about what is to be human - what is means to have experienced ambition, loss, grief, what it means to love and be loved.

'A beautifully written, sparse post-apocalyptic novel that explores memory, loss and identity ... Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships in extreme environments.' Washington Post

Reviews

Ambitious ... Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact ... Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void Publishers Weekly Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation while Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone Booklist What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? ... Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut -- Yiyun Li, author of THE VAGRANTS A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human ... This beautiful story reminds us of our deep longing for connection-with those we love, with strangers, with ourselves -- Keith Scribner

Author description

Lily Brooks-Dalton was born and raised in southern Vermont. She moved to Ireland when she was seventeen then worked her way around the world for three and a half years. She is currently doing an MFA in Portland, Oregon, and has won numerous scholarships for her writing.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781474600590
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : August 2016
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lily Brooks-Dalton
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 813.6
  • : 320