Product detail

Asking For It

Asking For It

Author: Louise O'Neill
$20.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night ...Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing. And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Awards

Winner of Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards: Book of the Year 2015 and Specsavers Irish Children's Book of the Year: Senior 2015. Shortlisted for "The Bookseller" YA Book Prize 2016.

Reviews

A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent Stylist Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force Irish Independent A difficult, confronting and vital read Elle Heartbreakingly accurate ... handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all Heat Brilliant, harrowing Observer A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble Irish Examiner A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart. Red Magazine A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society. Telegraph O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp ... unsparing and unsentimental Independent Bold, brave ... and brutal Bookseller A razor-sharp look at gender issues - Glasgow Herald Glasgow Herald Riveting ... a timely, gripping and vital novel. Western Mail A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood Irish Mail on Sunday A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent Stylist Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force Irish Independent A difficult, confronting and vital read Elle Heartbreakingly accurate ... handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all Heat Brilliant, harrowing Observer A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble Irish Examiner A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart. Red Magazine A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society. Telegraph Bold, brave ... and brutal Bookseller A razor-sharp look at gender issues Glasgow Herald O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp ... unsparing and unsentimental Independent Riveting ... a timely, gripping and vital novel. Western Mail A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood Irish Mail on Sunday

Author description

Louise O' Neill was born in west Cork in 1985. She studied English at Trinity College Dublin and has worked for the senior style director of American Elle magazine. She is currently working as a freelance journalist for a variety of Irish national newspapers and magazines. She lives in Clonakilty, west Cork, her website is louiseoneillauthor.com and you can find her on Twitter @oneilllo

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781784293208
  • : Quercus Publishing
  • : riverrun
  • : July 2016
  • : United Kingdom
  • : July 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Louise O'Neill
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 368