Arrow of God

Author(s): Chinua Achebe


Ezeulu, headstrong chief priest of the god Ulu, is worshipped by the six villages of Umuaro. But he is beginning to find his authority increasingly under threat - from his rivals in the tribe, from those in the white government and even from his own family. Yet he still feels he must be untouchable - surely he is an arrow in the bow of his God? Armed with this belief, he is prepared to lead his people, even if it means destruction and annihilation. Yet the people will not be so easily dominated. Spare and powerful, "Arrow of God" is an unforgettable portrayal of the loss of faith, and the struggle between tradition and change. Continuing the epic saga of the community in "Things Fall Apart", it is the second volume of Achebe's African trilogy, and is followed by "No Longer at Ease".


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Chinua Achebe (born in 1930) was educated at the University College of Ibadan, Nigeria. His first novel, Things Fall Apart (1958), was written partly in response to what he saw as inaccurate characterisations of Africa and Africans by British authors. The novel has now sold over ten million copies worldwide and been translated into more than fifty languages. In total he has written over twenty books - novels, short stories, essays and collections of poetry - including Arrow of God (1964); Beware, Soul Brother and Other Poems (1971), winner of the Commonwealth Poetry Prize; Anthills of the Savannah (1987), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize; Hopes and Impediments: Selected Essays (1988); and Home and Exile (2000). He is now a professor at Bard College, New York.

General Fields

  • : 9780141191560
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : January 2010
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Chinua Achebe
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : 240