Product detail

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike #1)

The Cuckoo's Calling (Cormoran Strike #1) (out of print)

Author: Robert Galbraith
Series: Cormoran Strike
$37.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is the acclaimed first crime novel by J.K. Rowling, writing under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

Promotion info

A remarkable debut - a classic crime novel in the tradition of James and Rendell.


It has been revealed that J.K. Rowling is actually the author of this book, writing under a pseudenom.

Reviews

"A remarkably assured debut. Robert Galbraith's portrayal of celebrity-obsessed modern London is at once beautifully written and utterly engrossing, his characters so real you could eat dinner with them, his ever-coiling plot guaranteed to keep you up past your bedtime. I couldn't put it down."""--Owen Laukkanen, author of The Professionals

Author description

Born in 1968, Robert Galbraith is married with two sons. After several years with the Royal Military Police, he was attached to the SIB (Special Investigation Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for protagonist Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who have returned to the civilian world. 'Robert Galbraith' is a pseudonym.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408704004
  • : Little, Brown Book Group
  • : Sphere
  • : June 2012
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2013
  • : January 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 464
  • : Robert Galbraith
  • : Paperback
  • : Export ed