Lark Rise to Candleford (Macmillan Collector's Library)

Author(s): Flora Thompson


"Flora Thompson's great memoir of her Oxfordshire girlhood. The richness of the language, the lingering over detail and incident creates a haunting classic."--The New York Times

The quintessential distillation of English country life at the turn of the twentieth century, this is the story of three closely-related Oxfordshire communities - a hamlet, a village, and a town - and the memorable cast of characters who people them. Based on her own experiences as a child and young woman, it is a story keenly observed and beautifully told across the three books of Lark Rise to Candleford trilogy: Lark Rise (1939), Over to Candleford (1941), and Candleford Green (1943). These three books are published together in this one elegant volume, complete with charming wood engravings.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781529024050
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Collector's Library, The
  • : July 2020
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Flora Thompson
  • : Hardback
  • : English
  • : 823/.912
  • : 704