Twenty Chickens for a Saddle: The Story of an African Childhood

Author(s): Robyn Scott

Biography & Memoir

When Robyn Scott was six her parents left the tranquil hills of New Zealand, taking their three small children to live in the wild Botswana bush, where they grew up collecting snakes, canoeing with crocodiles and breaking in horses in the veld. Returning to the country where Robyn's eccentric grandfather had served as a pilot to Seretse Khama, Botswana's first, beloved president, her parents continued in his pioneering and unconventional footsteps. This is the extraordinary story of the family's fifteen years in Botswana, during which Robyn's mother single-handedly homeschooled the three children, and her father ran a flying doctor practice, attempting, with often unexpected results, to adapt his experience to the unique demands of a rural practice and the growing problem of AIDS. First published 2008.

$38.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

NOT AVAILABLE


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A classic childhood memoir for fans of Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals, Peter Godwin's Mukiwa, Rian Malan's My Traitor's Heart and Alexandra Fuller's Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight Rights have been sold in US, Canada and Holland

'Both a wonderful memoir of an exotic childhood and a striking portrait of one of the world's most beguiling countries. A gem of a book.' Alexander McCall Smith 'Elegant, evocative, poignant ... beautifully written.' Michela Wrong Robyn Scott writes vividly about her extraordinary childhood ... I felt almost as if I'd shared her adventures - and wished I had. A book for everyone who loves Africa' Samantha Weinberg

Robyn Scott was born in 1981. She began her formal education at fifteen when she went to school in Zimbabwe, before moving to Auckland for her undergraduate degree. In 2004 she was awarded a scholarship to Cambridge University, from where she graduated with distinction. In 2005, she spent three months at the Financial Times, writing leader articles. Following this she divided her time between helping her father write a book on nutritional medicine and consulting for the pharmaceutical industry and a political risk advisory group specialising in Africa. In her spare time, she is establishing an Aids orphan charity with her mother. She lives in London

General Fields

  • : 9780747596004
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : March 2008
  • : United Kingdom
  • : May 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Robyn Scott
  • : Paperback
  • : Airside ed
  • : 968.8303092
  • : 464
  • : Biography & autobiography