Life Class: The Selected Memoirs of Diana Athill

Author(s): Diana Athill

Biography & Memoir

Diana Athill, born in 1917, made her reputation as a writer with the candour of her memoirs; through her commitment, in her words, 'to understand, to be aware, to touch the truth'. In a celebration of her life and writing, "Life Class" brings together four of her best-loved memoirs in one volume, spanning her very English childhood, her life and loves during World War II, her publishing career at Andre Deutsch, and her reflections on old age. Introduced by Ian Jack, Diana Athill's selected memoirs are a remarkable testament to an unusual and fully lived life.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'Athill has always had a peculiar and attractive talent for communicating her pleasure in life' Telegraph 'Athill tells her own story lightly and delightfully' Daily Mail 'Diana Athill is one of our most captivating and truth-seeking memoir writers, and this hefty four-books-in-one collection spans most of her 92 years' Good Housekeeping 'Athill' volumes of recollection, now brought together into one pleasingly hefty, elegantly beribboned book entitled Life Class, are a sturdy breakwater against the tides of ghosted sleb kiss'n'tell - Life Class demonstrates that real life is not the privilege of the great and the good, the famous and adored: it lies within all our reach' The Times 'A whopping treat' Daily Express 'It's fascinating, sharply intelligent and exquisitely written' Saga

Diana Athill was born in 1917. She is the author of Instead of a Letter, After A Funeral, Don't Look at Me Like That, Make Believe, Stet and Yesterday Morning, all published by Granta Books. She lives in London.

General Fields

  • : 9781847081469
  • : Granta Books
  • : Granta Books
  • : October 2010
  • : United Kingdom
  • : December 2010
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Diana Athill
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 828.91409
  • : 784
  • : Illustrations, ports.