Vanessa and Her Sister

Author(s): Priya Parmar

Fiction

London, 1905. The city is alight with change and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of brilliant, artistic friends who will come to be known as the legendary Bloomsbury Group. And at the centre of the charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter and Virginia, the writer. Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times. Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of artists and intellectuals throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London. But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must choose whether to protect Virginia's happiness or her own.

$37.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

In the vein of The Paris Wife and Z: a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald: a compelling and dazzling story of sisters and art, love and betrayal - of Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf

Priya Parmar is the author of one previous novel, Exit the Actress. She lives in London and Hawaii. http://priyaparmar.blogspot.co.uk/

General Fields

  • : 9781408850213
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : November 2014
  • : United Kingdom
  • : January 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Priya Parmar
  • : Paperback
  • : Export/Airside ed
  • : 368