Shame

Author(s): Melanie Finn

Fiction

'Arresting - Finn conjures up Africa perfectly' Margaret Forster 'A brilliantly written account of a soul in torment and the way she is pursued by her own fate. Finn evokes the darkness and light of Africa with the same sureness that she calls forth the brightness and shadow of the human heart' Tim Lott 'Haunting and atmospheric - I was completely hooked' Leila Aboulela REDEMPTION IS A FOREIGN COUNTRY - or so Pilgrim Jones hopes as she looks up at a departures board and takes the first flight. She is running away; from her failed marriage and from the carnage she has caused in a small Swiss village. Pilgrim alights on the edge of Africa. Over confessions and strong gin, she is lured into a world of mercenaries and philanthropists, delusional heroes and witchdoctors in polyester suits. Here, in a land where fireflies light the sky, anything - even redemption - seems possible. But can she come to terms with her past before the past catches up with her?

$38.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

For fans of J M Coetzee, Nadine Gordimer and The Other Hand, a devastatingly powerful novel from Orange Prize-longlisted Melanie Finn.

Melanie Finn has worked as a screenwriter and a journalist, and is the founder and director of the Natron Health Project, which brings healthcare to Maasai communities in Northern Tanzania. Her first novel, Away From You, was published to great critical acclaim in 2004, and was longlisted for the Orange and IMPAC Prizes.

General Fields

  • : 9780297608455
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : March 2015
  • : United Kingdom
  • : March 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Melanie Finn
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 320