Product detail

The Disgrace of Kitty Grey

The Disgrace of Kitty Grey

Author: Mary Hooper
$16.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

Kitty is living a happy, carefree life as a dairymaid in the countryside. The grand family she is employed by looks after her well, and she loves her trade, caring for the gentle cows and working in the cool, calm dairy. And then, of course, there is Will, the river man who she thinks is very fond of her, and indeed she is of him. Surely he will ask her to marry him soon? Then one day disaster strikes: Will disappears. Kitty is first worried and then furious. She fears that Will has only been leading her on all this time, and has now gone to London to make his fortune, forgetting about her completely. So when Kitty is asked to go to London to pick up a copy of Pride and Prejudice, the latest novel by the very fashionable Jane Austen, Kitty leaps at the chance to track down Will. But Kitty has no idea how vast London is, and how careful she must be. It is barely a moment before eagle-eyed pickpockets have spotted the country-born-and-bred Kitty and relieved her of her money and belongings. Dauntingly fast, she has lost her only means of returning home and must face the terrifying prospect of stealing in order to survive - and of being named a thief ...

Promotion info

A hugely romantic new novel set in the time of Jane Austen, from the popular author of Fallen Grace. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Eva Ibbotson and Georgette Heyer

Reviews

Hooper's storylines pack a 21st-century punch ... Historical fiction worthy of the genre -- Amanda Foreman New York Times Praise for Velvet: Powerfully plotted ... almost a teen version of Sarah Waters' Affinity with a bit of Jacqueline Wilson's Hetty Feather thrown in Independent on Sunday Praise for Fallen Grace: By any standards, an exceptional novel ... the gift for taking historical situations and making them emotionally engaging is far too rare ... after six historical novels, this one is Hooper's breakthrough and its characterisation, plotting and atmosphere are first-rate and deserve prizes ... Not since Philip Pullman's The Ruby in the Smoke has there been such a gorgeous evocation of Victorian life - or so satisfying a conclusion -- Amanda Craig The Times This wonderfully atmospheric story, set in Victorian London, will draw in teenage girls with its blend of sadness, hardship and redemption ... A sensitive and tautly-plotted novel, intelligently told Daily Mail

Author description

Mary Hooper is a very popular writer for children and young adults. Her brilliant historical novels have a huge fan base, as do her contemporary novels for teenagers. At The Sign of the Sugared Plum was selected as part of the 2010 Booked Up scheme. Mary lives in Henley-on-Thames.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781408827611
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : February 2013
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Mary Hooper
  • : Paperback
  • : 613
  • : English
  • : 823.92
  • : Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14
  • : 288